☥ Temples ☥ release their new single ‘Strange or be Forgotten’

Temples

Temples have released the second single from their highly anticipated second album ‘Volcano.’ The new single titled ‘Strange or be Forgotten’ is premiering on Noisey:

You will dig Temples if you like: Tempesst, Tame Impala, The Beach Boys, MGMT, The NeverEnding Story, the word groovy, ‘shrooming in the summer, and, if you really, really, really wish flying was your super power. Premiering below is the second single lifted from their forthcoming second record Volcano. The song closes the record, which is entirely apropo because what begins as a tune hinged on a clattering, rangy beat and a descending synth line soon swells to a sparkling, string-laden epic. Not to be nerdy, but the transition from chorus, to pre-chorus, to full blown anthem is a key example of the kind of songwriting that’ll make your balls tingle and your scalp tighten. Don’t you dare listen to this out of tinny laptop speakers. And when you’re done, spin the sci-fi-prog-pop goodness of “Certainty.”

LISTEN TO STRANGE OR BE FORGOTTEN HERE:

“We’re continually inundated with pressure in modern life to have to make something of ourselves and leave behind a legacy in this world,” explains bassist Tom Warmsley regarding the song’s inspiration. “‘Strange Or Be Forgotten’ is our way of questioning the necessity of having to be all so individual and unique—when really it’s our true selves that should be celebrated.”

“The grand and shimmery “Strange Or Be Forgotten.”,Stereogum

“Temples have unveiled a new track from their upcoming album ‘Volcano’, and it’s another psych-pop doozy. After a shuddering start, the track evolves into a swooning, blissful pop number drenched in epic strings and wobbly synths that’ll be a euphoric ending to ‘Volcano’. It’s Temples just being themselves, and that’s just the way we like them.” DIY Magazine

The new album ‘Volcano’ is out on March 3rd. We have 500 copies of the LP available on exclusive yellow vinyl available for pre-order here.

The UK independent record shops have a limited run of orange vinyl.
Available to pre-order at Resident | Drift | Rough Trade | Jumbo Records | Piccadilly

PRE-ORDERVOLCANOON VINYL
PRE-ORDERVOLCANOON CD

The band have also announced a series of UK and European dates for the Spring:

Sun. Mar. 26 — Newcastle, UK @ Riverside
Mon. Mar. 27 — Sheffield, UK @ Leadmill
Tue. Mar. 28 — Manchester, UK @ Academy 2
Thu. Mar. 30 — London, UK @ Brixton Electric
Fri. Mar. 31 — Brighton, UK @ Concorde 2
Sat. Apr. 1 — Derby, UK @ 2Q Festival
Sun. Apr. 2 — Birmingham, UK @ Institute 2
Tue. Apr. 7 — Cologne, DE @ Gebaude 9
Wed. Apr. 8 — Munich, DE @ Strom
Thu. Apr. 9 Prague, CS @ Palac Akropolis
Fri. Apr. 10 — Berlin, DE @ Festaal Kreuzberg
Sat. Apr. 11 — Hamburg, DE @ Knust
Sun. Apr. 12 — Copenhagen, DK @ Pumpehuset
Sat. Apr. 18 — Brussels, BE @ Botanique
Sun. Apr. 19 — Tourcoing, FR @ Le Grand Mix
Mon. Apr. 20 — Lausanne, CH @ Le Docks
Tue. Apr. 21 — Zurich, CH @ Plaza
Wed. Apr. 22 — Lyon, FR @ L’Epicerie Moderne
Fri. Apr. 24 — Paris, FR @ Elysee Montmartre
Mon. Apr. 27 — Bristol, UK @ Trinity Centre
Fri. May 19 — Sun. May 21 — Madrid, ES @ Tomavistas Festival

Tickets for these shows go on general sale on Friday 13th January. Dates and links can be found here.

LIVE DATESWEBSITEFACEBOOKTWITTER

Share |