Saint Etienne ‘Finisterre’ (Deluxe Reissue)


Saint Etienne
Deluxe Edition
+ Limited edition with DVD

Saint Etienne have announced details of the release of expanded and re-mastered versions of their album Finisterre on Heavenly. The album will be re-released as Deluxe Edition featuring the original album, an extra disc of session tracks and B-sides and extensive sleeve-notes. The limited-edition version of Finisterre also features a DVD of the film of the same name.

The albums are the latest in an on-going Saint Etienne re-issue series that has so far seen the release of Foxbase Alpha, Continental, So Tough and The Sound Of Water. They also recently released Foxbase Beta, a re-working of their debut album by renowned producer Richard X.

Finisterre was a love/hate letter to London, with its iconic image of the collapsed Ronan Point on the cover, recorded at a time of mass demonstrations against the government and just after folk hero Ken Livingstone had been elected Mayor. Alternately harsh and gentle, electronic and thrumming, it included the nu-disco call-to-arms single Action. Unreleased tracks on the second disc of the deluxe edition include the near-mythical Dr Who-sampling There There My Brigadier, and a tribute to the mysterious Aqualad who resides under the Thames, waiting for his moment to take the city back from the financiers and to open up the Post Office Tower’s revolving restaurant once again.

CD1 (original album)
1. Action
2. Amateur
3. Language Lab
4. Soft Like Me
5. Summer Isle
6. Stop And Think It Over
7. Shower Scene
8. The Way We Live Now
9. New Thing
10. B92
11. The More You Know
12. Finisterre

1. Primrose Hill
2. Anderson Unbound
3. Seven Summers
4. Gimp Crisis
5. Abby, I Hardly Know You
6. So Mystified *
7. White Dress *
8. Time And Tide
9. Shock Corridor
10. Stop And Think It Over (Kid Loco mix) *
11. Mountain Rain
12. Queen Of Polythene
13. Ballade De Saint Etienne
14. Stevie
15. Get It Together Again
16. Fascination
17. There There My Brigadier *

* previously un-released. All tracks, except the Kid Loco mix, are brand new recordings.

Available from:
Rough Trade

Share |