HVNLP89 — Folkrock

HVNLP89 — A free release from Heavenly Recordings as a little taste of what we’ve got going on at the mo. Enjoy!

HVNLP89 track listing and band info:

1. Fionn Regan — 100 Acres of Sycamore.
A sneaky preview of Fionn’s forthcoming album. Fionn signed to Heavenly for the release of his second album ‘The Shadow of an Empire’, and his third album is now ready too. ‘100 Acres of Sycamore’ is due for release in August.

2. Cherry Ghost — The Night They Buried Sadie Clay
Taken from the album ‘Beneath This Burning Shoreline’ which was released in July last year to a flurry of critical acclaim. The band took a year to dutifully stitch all these songs together. They did so in a barn on a tiny farm south of Manchester, where they sat on mattresses as they played their instruments, and put their amps on toilet lids. Finishing sessions in the early morning as the farmer headed out to milk the cows…

3. Trevor Moss & Hannah-Lou — Big Water
’Big Water’ is taken from husband & wife Trevor Moss & Hannah-Lou’s yet to be released debut album ‘Quality First, Last & Forever’.

4. Sea of Bees — Skinnybone
Sea of Bees came to our atten­tion via a very astute Amer­ican pub­li­cist who is an avid reader of Heavenly’s Caught By The River web­site and instinct­ively thought that we would appre­ci­ate the music. He didn’t actu­ally know that he was send­ing it to a record label at the time but we will forever be in his debt. Skinnybone is a track taken from Sea of Bees’ debut album Song for the Ravens.

5. Sea of Bees — Wizbot (Conquering Animal Sound remix)
Wizbot is also from Sea of Bees’ debut album Songs for the Ravens; remixed here by Conquering Animal Sound.

6. LCMDF — Take Me To The Mountains (Get Well Soon remix)
Finnish sisters Emma and Mia Kemppainen have embossed on their debut LP the kind of skewed pop vision that recalls the likes of TomTom Club, Neneh Cherry and Shaun Ryder. And we love it, as do we love this remixed version from Get Well Soon.

7. James Walbourne — Songbird
Despite still only being in his late 20s James Walbourne’s musical pedigree is already an enviable one. Stints playing with the likes of The Pernice Brothers, Son Volt, Jay Farrar and The Pogues gaining him respect beyond his years. Songbird is taken from James’ debut solo album ‘The Hill’.

8. The Head and the Heart — Lost In My Mind
Taken from their self titled debut album, Lost In My Mind was also released as a single and is available on 7″ from the Heavenly Emporium.

9. Jack Joseph — Canyon Echo
A very talented singer songwriter and friend of Heavenly Recordings, we introduce you to Jack Joseph with this track ‘Canyon Echo’.

10. Edwyn Collins — Searching For The Truth
We are delighted to have Edwyn Collins with us at Heavenly Recordings. ‘Losing Sleep’ is Edwyn’s 7th solo album & has been critically lauded as his best. With collaborations from the likes of The Drums, Franz Ferdinand, The Cribs, Johnny Marr & The Magic Numbers and his celebratory live shows which stoke the soul and end in standing ovations. This is the sound of a true legend showing how it’s done.


Share |