Into The Diamond Sun’, the long-awaited debut from Stealing Sheep

HVNLP95 Stealing Sheep - Into The Diamond Sun artwork

We are thrilled to announce the release of ‘Into The Diamond Sun’, the long-awaited debut from Stealing Sheep, available from 20th August 2012 on CD, download and limited glitter vinyl. The album when purchased from an independent retailer also comes with a bonus ‘The Melting Mountain Mix’ CD featuring tracks the band were listening to when recording.
Check below for full track listing.

You can pre-order the album from the following sites:

Rough Trade (the first 200 copies are signed) come with an exclusive badge back


Hugely impressive debut LP from the Liverpool trio Stealing Sheep.…If they can pull this glorious folly together live, Stealing Sheep will be unstoppable.” BBC

…when these three Liverpool lasses let their freak-folk flag fly their abandon is contagious… Their voices are great, which helps, but it’s the unexpected instrumentation that really seals the deal.” THE INDEPENDENT

Stealing Sheep’s debut album is a delightful bag of pick’n’mix… It’s the small details that stand out on this beguiling debut.” THE GUARDIAN

What’s in the water up on Merseyside? It’s as if there’s an endless source of almost psychedelic otherness running deep beneath the place. It’s there in the music of everyone from the La’s to Ladytron; an off-kilter wonder that sets the place and its art apart from the rest of the country.

Stealing Sheep are very much a group channelling that source. You could hear it in their first recordings, released collectively as the Noah & The Paper Moon e.p. And its there flowing throughout their debut album proper, Into The Diamond Sun, a collection of songs that don’t so much defy genres as gleefully hand-pick the most mellifluous elements of everything from voodoo folk, DIY pop, post punk and analogue electronica, and stitch them together into a glorious harmonic whole.

Recorded at Mello Studios with Sam Crombie, Stealing Sheep’s debut album proper is an Olympian leap forward, so much so that at points the record sounds like it’s arrived from its own private universe. Whereas on one track — White Lies – the group could be the much-missed Broadcast closing the main stage of the Green Man festival, on another they sound not a million miles from a properly wigged out Go Go’s (Genevieve). Elsewhere, ghostly piano codas (Bear Tracks) brush up against galeophobic warnings about the perils of the seaside (Shark Song).

Into the Diamond Sun is a glimmering, shimmering work, where Rebecca, Emily and Lucy’s unique visions of music warp into a singular whole. It’s also an exceptional addition to Liverpool’s celebrated lineage of unconventional art and music.

Shut Eye’, the first single from the Into The Diamond Sun, has already notched up over 115,000 hits on youtube…

Catch Stealing Sheep on tour this summer:

Sunday 1 July – CLITHEROE – The Beat Herder
Tuesday 3 July – HEBDEN BRIDGE – Hebden Bridge Arts Festival
Friday 13 July – CHELTENHAM – 2000 Trees Festival
Saturday 14 July – LIVERPOOL – Kazimier Summer Garden Party (Headline)
Friday 20 July – CORNWALL – Port Elliot Festival
Sunday 22 July – ABBOTS RIPTON – Secret Garden Party
Saturday 4 August – HERTFORDSHIRE – Standon Calling
Friday 10 August – LYMINGTON – Kneedeep Festival
Friday 17 August – GLANUSK – Greenman Festival
Saturday 1 September – LONDON – Rough Trade East (Instore album launch)
Saturday 1 September – KENT – In The Woods Festival
Saturday 8 September – ISLE OF WIGHT — Bestival
Saturday 15 September – PORTMERION – Festival No.6

Stealing Sheep
Into The Diamond Sun
Released 03/09/12

vinyl, cd, download

1. The Garden
2. Shut Eye
3. Rearrange
4. White Lies
5. Genevieve
6. Circles
7. Gold
8. Shark Song
9. Liven Up
10. Tangled up in Stars
11. Bear Tracks

+ bonus cd available on pre order from all good Independent stores:

The Melting Mountain Mix.

1.Vernon Elliot (The Clangers Sound Track) — intro and Dialogue
2.Bjork (The Moumins Film) — The Comet Song
3.The Dirty Projectors — Stillness is the move
4.Coco Rosie — Brazilian Sun
5.Broadcast — Minus Three
6.Snoop Dogg — Drop it like it’s hot
7.Love — Orange Skies
8.Captain Beefheart — Blue Million Miles
9.Philip Glass — Koyannisquatsu
10.Can — Sing Swan Song
11.Ween — The Mollusk
12.Thurl Ravenscroft — That’s What Friends Are For (The Vulture Song)

Share |