Mark Lanegan announces release of covers album ‘Imitations’ on Heavenly

Mark Lanegan 'Imitations'

We’re incredibly pleased to say that Mark Lanegan is to release a second album on Heavenly, following May’s critically acclaimed ‘Black Pudding’.

Titled ‘Imitations’, the covers album is released on 16th September 2013 with the single ‘I’m Not The Loving Kind’ now available to stream below. Speaking about the record — which sees him take on tracks from Nancy Sinatra to Nick Cave in his own inimitable way — Lanegan said:

“When I was a kid in the late sixties and early seventies, my parents and their friends would play the records of Andy Williams, Dean Martin, Frank Sinatra and Perry Como, music with string arrangements and men singing songs that sounded sad whether they were or not.

At home my folks were also listening to country music — Willie Nelson, Johnny Cash, George Jones and Vern Gosdin were some of our favourites.

For a long time I’ve wanted to make a record that gave me the same feeling those old records did, using some of the same tunes I loved as a kid and some that I’ve loved as I have gotten older. This record is it. Imitations.”


1. Flatlands
2. She’s Gone
3. Deepest Shade
4. You Only Live Twice
5. Pretty Colors
6. Brompton Oratory
7. Solitaire
8. Mack The Knife
9. I’m Not The Loving Kind
10. Lonely Street
11. Elégie Funèbre
12. Autumn Leaves

Mark Lanegan facebook
Mark Lanegan twitter

Share |