Temples release their new video for ‘Strange Or Be Forgotten’

Temples

Temples have released the new video for their latest single ‘Strange Or Be Forgotten,’ directed by James Beale. It shows the band capturing live footage of a diverse cast of characters.

Interview Magazine premiered the video:

“As the adage goes, a picture is worth a thousand words, so when taken properly, it supposedly captures the essence of its subject in a split-second. In psychedelic pop-rock band Temples’ new video for their single “Strange or Be Forgotten,” which premieres exclusively below, characters undergo the intimidating process of having their photograph taken, which reveals their inner conflicts and creative urges with every click of the shutter. Some subjects are shy and hold back, some smile, some dance, and one even gets undressed.”

WATCH THE VIDEO HERE:

“The striking attention granted to each subject makes for a visual remarkable empathy.“
- Stereogum

As Temples themselves stand by in a tunnel and beam professional photo and film equipment outwards, a series of (very) diverse characters come forth and strike poses as the camera moves back and forth slowly. It’s their time to shine, hoping you’ll remember them after the clip itself is ended.
- DIY Magazine

Throughout the clip for the cut from their forthcoming sophomore album Volcano, the band conducts quasi-interrogations with creative types who range from strongmen to performance artists. Each of their expressions are as distant as James Bagshaw’s lysergic vocals, which creates an intimate but emotionally guarded atmosphere that’s compelling if not quite dynamic.
- Paste Magazine

Interview Magazine chatted to Temples James Bagshaw about the video and the making of the new record ‘Volcano.’ Read the interview here.

Volcano’ is out on Friday 3rd March.

The UK independent record shops have a limited run of orange vinyl.
Available to pre-order at Resident | Drift | Rough Trade | Jumbo Records | Piccadilly

On Record-Store you can pre-order a record/t-shirt bundle here.

5414939957666

Exclusive to the Heavenly Emporium we have ‘Volcano’ available as a cassette, limited to three hundred copies and available to purchase here.

PRE-ORDERVOLCANOON VINYL
PRE-ORDERVOLCANOON CD

“Pop music that is catchy, instant and accessible to everyone from teenage girls to ardent record nerds.”
★★★★ Shindig Magazine

“James, Tom, Adam and Sam have made the perfect follow up which will not only win over fans of psychedelia but should gain them new fans too.”
★★★★ Record Collector

“From the moment the fairground-organ-propelled opener ‘Certainty’ sets sail, Adam Smith’s keyboards add layers of intrigue and more magic than Temples ever seemed capable of.”

When they let loose on Celebration they’re an impossibly addictive proposition and with Oh The Saviour and (I Wanna Be Your) Mirror, they have their very own status-changing anthems.”
★★★★ Q Magazine

“Their screwball pageant of glam stomp, Broadway musical, and driving synths make it clear. Temples aren’t stuck in the past, they’ve glimpsed the future.”
★★★★ Mojo Magazine

“Volcano is full of expertly crafted pop while retaining Temples’ trademark psychedelic sound; a leap into the future from a band firmly rooted in the past.”
★★★★ Dork Magazine

The band have a series of UK and European dates for the Spring:

Sun. Mar. 26 — Newcastle, UK @ Riverside
Mon. Mar. 27 — Sheffield, UK @ Leadmill
Tue. Mar. 28 — Manchester, UK @ Academy 2
Thu. Mar. 30 — London, UK @ Brixton Electric
Fri. Mar. 31 — Brighton, UK @ Concorde 2
Sat. Apr. 1 — Derby, UK @ 2Q Festival
Sun. Apr. 2 — Birmingham, UK @ Institute 2
Tue. Apr. 7 — Cologne, DE @ Gebaude 9
Wed. Apr. 8 — Munich, DE @ Strom
Thu. Apr. 9 Prague, CS @ Palac Akropolis
Fri. Apr. 10 — Berlin, DE @ Festaal Kreuzberg
Sat. Apr. 11 — Hamburg, DE @ Knust
Sun. Apr. 12 — Copenhagen, DK @ Pumpehuset
Sat. Apr. 18 — Brussels, BE @ Botanique
Sun. Apr. 19 — Tourcoing, FR @ Le Grand Mix
Mon. Apr. 20 — Lausanne, CH @ Le Docks
Tue. Apr. 21 — Zurich, CH @ Plaza
Wed. Apr. 22 — Lyon, FR @ L’Epicerie Moderne
Fri. Apr. 24 — Paris, FR @ Elysee Montmartre
Mon. Apr. 27 — Bristol, UK @ Trinity Centre
Fri. May 19 — Sun. May 21 — Madrid, ES @ Tomavistas Festival

Dates and tickets can be found here.

LIVE DATESWEBSITEFACEBOOKTWITTER

Share |